Interview with Giorgio Schimmenti

Giorgio Schimmenti started his fashion adventure as a blogger 5 years ago in the sunny Sicily. Today he is based in Milan and is the fashion editor of Ulisse (Alitalia’s magazine).
_MG_5248How did you start becoming fascinated with fashion?

6-7 years ago I noticed that to me, the most interesting part of the newspapers and magazines that I used to read, was the one dedicated to fashion. Five years ago, on the 27th of Decemer 2010 I decided to start my own blog. Last year it became an online magazine and I run it with the help of my team.

How did you prepare for a career as a fashion editor?

After I finished school I enrolled in a course about Fashion Editing. Later I also did two masters in Marketing Communication and Marketing for luxury goods. In the mean time I had collaborations with Vogue Italy, ManInTown and La Repubblica (one of the major Italian newspapers). I guess my studies, previous collaborations and the blog helped me quite a lot to land my current position as a fashion editor.

How do you stay updated on the current trends?

Mainly thanks to Instagram, the designers’ profiles and specialized magazines.

What is your dream job?

Fashion editor for The Coveteur. _MG_5267

What is the best part of your job?

Working with fabrics, exploring the new collections, meeting the designers, the social interactions and the relationships that are created.

What is the most challenging part of your job?

To stand out from the crowd and prove your worth in this extremely competitive industry.

Can you describe a little bit about your position. What’s your day-to-day work life like?

My day starts with the allarm clock that rings at 8 a.m. Then I head to the office or go to meetings, press days or collection presentations. My job also involves photoshoots (where I usually choose the mood and the items) and interviews.

What advice would you give to aspiring talent who is working to establih themselves in the fashion indsutry?

To be flexible, ambitious and patient. To work hard and to have a professional preparation.

Which are you favorite fabrics?

Cashmere, denim, leather and pony skin.
_MG_5292What is the first thing you notice in a woman?

The way she is dressed and the body.

And in a man?

The face and how he is dressed.

Which city has the best dressed men?

Milan, without any doubt.

We will never see you wearing?

Flip-flops in town, tank tops anywhere, shorts in the evening. _MG_5256

The must-have item for SS16?

Crossbody bag for the men and fringes (yes, again) for the ladies.

Must watch emerging brands?

Movitra which is specialized in sunglasses and Fortu Milano which focuses on man’s accessories.

How long does it take you to decide what to wear?

Not much, around 10 minutes, except for the special occasions.

Favorite place to hang out in Milan?

Bianco Latte for breakfast, Riad for the brunch and Fioraio Bianchi for a drink.

What advice would you give to the men who would like to dress the Italian style?

To be moderate with the accessories, to pay attention to the fabrics and to take care of every detail – shoes, watch, sunglasses.

On a final note, what advice would you give to your 15-years-old self?

To put more effort into my blog and not to treat is just as a hobby.
_MG_5263

Visit his Blog | Instagram | Facebook

Interview & Photos by Guest Contributor Gabriela Bell 

Leave a Reply

