Interview with Stylist Seungho Cho

IMG_2228

Can you please state your name, age, profession, and where you’re from?

Hi, my name is Seungho Cho. I’m 32 years old in Korea, and my major is [Fashion] Merchandising, but I’m a stylist.

How did you get into styling? Did you go to fashion school?

I used to go to the University of California San Diego, where my major was Economics. I realized that it wasn’t my life, so I stopped and persuaded my parents to let me go to fashion school. I had a lot of conversations with teachers, friends, and others before deciding my major. I didn’t like design, but I liked styling so I decided to study Merchandising. I went to FIDM in Los Angeles—The Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising and graduated two years ago.

IMG_0660

What is your styling process?

I usually do online research and try to see what people on the street are wearing. Everyone’s style is so different, and I try to put a little bit of my style in there too. I look at fashion shows, magazines, trends that are currently popular. I don’t usually follow trends—When I style I try to mix trendy with classic. I try not to copy what I see, but mix and incorporate different things.

IMG_2180

As a stylist, what is your biggest challenge?

My biggest challenge is for my clients to like how I style them. American people aren’t too good at fashion, but they want people to think they look cool, even if they’re not. I have to persuade them sometimes, because I’m kind of changing their style. So when they feel happy, I also feel satisfied.

IMG_1980

What are some of your favorite brands?

I really like TopShop, because they’re street and stylish. Besides that, I don’t have any particular brands that I like, because sometimes brands are not what are stylish.

IMG_2269 (1)

How would you describe your personal style?

I’m really interested in menswear. I like casual and what Koreans call “dandy,” and I like clean. I don’t like too much pattern, just simplicity and no logos. Just a classy, clean, simple style.

IMG_2367

Is there anyone you want to style?

I want to style Tim Duncan, in the NBA. He’s cool and nice, but his style is kind of ‘80s, so I want to style him.

How can our readers find you?

Instagram: @scho0128 Blog: blog.naver.com/seungho7698

Interview by IFBK

– IFBK

4 thoughts on “Interview with Stylist Seungho Cho

  1. I love the way he styles. I have a lot of personal experience when it comes to styling through Mr. Cho, and I am always very satisfied. Many people think it’s other people’s opinions that matter when it comes to their style, but always remember it’s YOUR style so rock it proud.

  2. I love his dandy look. Read this made me close to tears. I know how it feels when we have to do something that we don’t like. Glad he made a good decision to stop and pursued what he loves instead. I also take a major that I actually don’t really like but I can’t stop it now. I will graduate this October and I promise my self I won’t do that anymore and will do something I’m passionate about. Thanks IFBK for this interview and thanks Mr. Cho Seungho for sharing, it motivates me to pursue my dream too 🙂

Leave a Reply

