Featured Blogger: D Style by Dake Hu

DSC00132

Please introduce yourself.

My name is Dake Hu, I’m 21 years old from Taipei and I’m a menswear blogger.

 

Describe your personal style

My personal style is really just about color; I like to use different colors, especially strong and bright colors. I like to integrate colors and style, for example, preppy or casual styles – that’s my style!
DSC00647
What made you start blogging?

I started because I really wanted to post something on the internet, I’d been looking at websites like Lookbook and GQ magazine for a long time. I wanted to have my own blog and put my style out there.
IMG_8623
Was there a turning point for your blog?

I don’t think there was ever really a turning point in terms of becoming successful, it’s really interesting because the first article that I posted on my blog received lots of comments and thousands of views in 2 or 3 days. I think it just happened hahaha.
IMG_8620
Describe today’s outfit!

Today I’m wearing a preppy outfit with bright colors, with yellow and a blue tie. I’ve put my scarf over my blazer because I think it looks stylish and casual.
DSC08601
I see that you’ve recently graduated, how was it balancing your school life with running a blog?

It was difficult to balance school like and blogging because I didn’t have free time during the week. So I ran my blog on the weekend, went for photoshoots and bought clothes for my blog. I usually use my free time on the weekends to keep my blog running.
IMG_8589
What’s the menswear blogging scene like in Taiwan?

In Taiwan, menswear blogging is not as popular as womenswear blogging. We don’t have many menswear bloggers here so I would say that it’s interesting and I hope more people become menswear bloggers, as we need more people like this in Taiwan.
IMG_8614
What’s your favorite Taiwanese brand?

Plain Me, it’s a select shop that has their own collection. I really like what they import into their stores and how they design their clothes.
IMG_8595
What’s the biggest misconception people have about you?

People always think that I’ll have lots of free clothes because I’m a fashion blogger – that’s not true. We do receive free clothes sometimes from corporations, it’s not that much, most of us buy our clothes with our own money.
IMG_8602
How has blogging helped you with your career path?

I want to work in the fashion industry and blogging has helped me think about what I want to do in with my future. Right now I’m applying to Parson’s school for design to study fashion marketing.

Follow Dake:

Blog | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

DSC09262

Interview & Photography by IFBK

-IFBK

Leave a Reply

