Featured Fashion Blogger: Dahye Jung

IMG_0298

Please introduce yourself. 

My name is Dahye, I am currently a business student and fashion blogger living in Montreal.

What was your reason for starting this blog?

I started my blog back in high school, sort of on a whim, after lusting over other style bloggers. I’ve always loved the fashion industry, and photography, so starting my own blog was a natural move for me.

IMG_0776

We’ve been following your style, and noticed that your style has changed since the summer. What are your reasons or what inspired the change?

I’m glad you noticed my change in style! Although it is quite obvious. 😛 I used to love feminine style, but after the summer, I randomly started to wear much more minimalistic outfits. I love experimenting with my style, so I wanted to change it up. I was mostly inspired by some of my favorite bloggers, like The Haute Pursuit and Oracle Fox. I simply fell in love with their simple style, and even influenced me to go blonde. Less is more!

What is your favorite Korean brand? And what is the biggest brand in your area right now?

My favorite Korean brand is Low Classic. I visited their store in Sinsa over the summer, and automatically fell for their minimalistic designs. Everything is so wearable, but at the same time, really unique. I’m not really sure what the biggest brand in Montreal is right now, because it depends on who you talk to. But I see many of the chain stores, like Zara and H&M, selling items inspired by Acne Studios. Acne is definitely having a moment.

IMG_0929

What advice would you give to bloggers who are just starting?

Honestly, sometimes I feel like I should not be giving other people tips because it is a challenge to stay motivated and inspired to create new content. But in the end, it comes down to the original reason why I started to blog: out of the enjoyment of sharing pretty pictures on the Internet. With school taking priority over my blog often, I try to prepare multiple posts at once, so that they are ready to be published in advance. It’s really efficient to dedicate an entire day to taking multiple outfit pictures, and editing them right after!

We love your youtube videos, when do you find time to make them? What motivates you to keep doing them?

Aw, thank you so much!! My channel is still quite little, but I hope to keep growing it. Again, like with blogging, I film and edit in advance whenever I have time during the weekend. Editing videos takes a much longer time, but I think it is really fun, which gives me the desire to keep it up. I plan on focusing more on my channel next year, so we will see how it goes!

IMG_1025

How does fashion life in Canada compare to Korea?

Well, fashion in Korea is just different than anywhere else in the world. The trends catch on like the speed of light, and die just as fast. I think Koreans like to match each other (like couple or best friend outfits), and it is much more feminine than in Canada. In Canada, fashion is not as much of a widespread priority as it is in Korea. Most people are pretty casual in their daily wear, especially in the winter because we just want to stay warm!

Do you find Korean celebrities inspiring?

I’m actually not very familiar with Korean celebrities. I know, I know… shame on me for not watching k-dramas!

IMG_9302

If you were on a deserted island, what would you take with you? Name 3 things and why.

I would take a water purifier, a knife, and an instrument to keep me busy. Boring, but practical!

What is your big dream for the fashion industry?

My dream is pretty typical: I want to live in New York City and have a job that allows me to travel the world. For now, being a buyer sounds intriguing, but I’m keeping an open mind to different fields. My dream is anything too crazy or far fetched, but I think that will make me happy!

IMG_9761
Blog  |  Instagram  |  Youtube  |  Facebook

Interview by IFBK

– IFBK

 

3 thoughts on “Featured Fashion Blogger: Dahye Jung

Leave a Reply

