Headshots with Jeku Arce

Jessica Jones-0052_Square

Jeku Arce, is a professional photographer, based in Seoul, South Korea. IFBK was happy to be part of his photo shooting experiment. His showed us how easy and professional he works.

1. Hello Jeku, could you introduce yourself?

My name is Jeku Arce, I’m 28 years old, and currently living in Seoul, Korea working as a Peter Hurley Associate headshot photographer. I was trained by Peter Hurley in New York City to take headshots and have implemented what I’ve learned to the 4 industries that I take care of: business, corporate, medical industries, upcoming actors, actresses, and dating services. I also do product and catalogue photography at my studio.

Jessica Jones-00522. What inspired you to start your business? How long have you been taking headshots?

Having the flexibility to work on your own schedule was a reason why I wanted to start this business. This forces you to hustle even more knowing that this is how I want to live my life. As Dave Ramsey as said in his financial planning books, we all work on commission, “Work, get paid. Don’t work, don’t get paid.” I’ve done my share of weddings, families, babies, and pets, but working with people who want to put their best face forward is something I feel that I do best. The results show that what I’m doing is working. My photos have been featured in government publications, international organizations, and in various entertainment industries around the world. Coaching people to be confident with a sense of approachability in front of the camera is what I have been trained to do and people come to me because the other photographers they’ve gone to can’t help bring that out of them.

Yuna Lee-0044_Square3. What is most important in your life? We know you like to travel, but which city is your favorite?

I don’t have a favorite city, but I recently returned from Japan spending 2 days hiking Mount Fuji and the rest of my time in central Tokyo. During this trip I got to meet and connect with many people from all walks of life. I met people during the hike of Mount Fuji, while at the famous Shibuya crossing, at the Tsukiji fish market auction, and in standing sushi bars in Ginza. Connecting with people via food, language, and photos is a great way to get a better understanding of the world around you.

Realizing that the world has so much to share and learn from is why I travel.

Yuna Lee-00444. Can you tell us more about your work as a photographer? Why did you move to Korea? Are you planning to move to another country in the future?

Seoul is a city of opportunity despite many of the barriers and difficulties that I’ve had. I’ve found a niche market for individuals, businesses, and organizations looking to improve their image management so they can better connect with their clients, audience, or even future spouse. In a market where standardization is prominent, it’s easy for my style of headshots to stand out.

Diana Kunanova-0059_Square5. What do you like and dislike about Seoul?

The people I’ve met in Seoul are now some of my best friends in my short time here so far. Seoul is a great melting pot of individuals coming from all around the world. I like that I’ve found a community of people who are open minded, willing to collaborate, and can show me all the great places to eat.

6. How long have you lived in Seoul? Was it difficult to start your business here?

I’ve lived in Seoul for almost a year. What helped start my business were the massive amounts of networking that I did prior and during the first several months in Seoul. Studying my niche market, getting hard data, researching articles, but most of all, connecting with people who have helped me get up to speed on the market in Korea. I recommend you know you target audience and personally get to know the people you want to serve.

Diana Kunanova-00597. Do you know any other photographers in Seoul (Korean or foreign), and what do you think about their work?

A lot of my friends in Seoul are ex-pat photographers. They are awesome people who have helped me starting out in Seoul. Each of my friends specializes in various different work while some are generalists. They all do great work in their respective niche markets.

8. How can our readers find you?

My main portfolio site.
My Peter Hurley Associate Page.
I’m more active on Instagram than On anything else, but the rest of my social media links are HERE.

IFBK Seoul-0041_FB9. What would you like to see on IFBK?

I’d like to see more behind the scenes videos! I recently did one for Adroit during one of their fashion videos that was debuted last week. I feel that the hard work that people behind the scenes are not appreciated enough. It takes a whole team to produce something great.

IFBK Seoul-0050_FB

IFBK Seoul-0051_FB

 

– IFBK

Leave a Reply

