Designer Spotlight: gyamjo JEWELS

gyamjo1. Tell us about yourself, including what you do and how you got there.

I am Gyamjo, the jewelry designer of gyamjo JEWELS. Right now I am based in Tokyo, but was born in Nepal in a Tibetan family. Gyamjo JEWELS was born out of my deep respect for my Tibetan roots and identity. I have been working in the jewelry business in Tokyo for the past 17 years, and during this period I observed the fine arts, and antique jewelries in museums around the world. And all of this made me reconsider and think about my background, and my desire to express the beauty of my Tibetan culture and customs through jewelry grew stronger day by day, so in 2010 gyamjo JEWELS was born.

photo 1 (1)2. Tell us about your design style. What makes your collection unique?

My design aesthetic is not confined by one style, but rather the designs fully express my ideas. They can be modern edge, bold and sleek, unique, feminine, contemporary, or industrial. What makes my collection unique is that all of my jewelry designs are born from my roots and identity.

3. What kind of person wears your jewelry? Who is your target market?

My jewelry designs are worn by people from all walks of life. I don’t have a target market because my jewelry is for people who like my concept, designs, and the meaning behind my jewelry.

photo 1 (3)4. What’s it like to see someone wearing one of your creations?

That’s the best part in this field. All your hard work turns into blessings and builds your confidence.

5. What is your favorite piece you’ve ever created and why is it special?

All the pieces that I have created until now are all special to me. However, if you want me to pick one then I would say my Numbers Collection in 3 series – peace, gift, and feminine (inspired by Tibetan numbers) is my favorite.

photo 2 (1)6. Do your pieces have a theme or underlying idea?

All my pieces are based on my beautiful roots. You will discover the deep meaning behind my pieces, and the essence and the flavor of Tibet through wearing my pieces.

7. Where do you go for inspiration when you’re starting a new collection?

Inspiration for my collection comes from my DNA, background, childhood memories, and now I try to visit a Tibetan monastery (wherever there is one) because it helps to revive  and inspire me.

photo 2 (3)8. Besides your business, what are your hobbies or passions?

Watching movies is my hobby and passion; I breath, sleep, and eat movies. Recently, I don’t have time to watch but If I have time I will spend my holidays watching movies. Maybe it is from my childhood dream to make documentaries.

9. How do you spend your time on the weekend? Do you have any free time?

Yes I do have a free time but very little. And whenever I have time even for few minutes, I love strolling through the streets of Tokyo. I love window shopping and absorbing the Tokyo street fashion which is very inspiring for your eyes and mind.

photo 510. What do you think about Korean fashion? Do you think your jewelry can be popular in Korea and why?

Actually I don’t have much knowledge about Korean fashion but from what I know I think it is very sharp and edgy. I think my jewelry can be popular in Korea because my jewelry can be worn as a fashion statement, and more importantly I have received lots of comments about how it touches the heart of the wearer. Also, Koreans are similar to us because they too like fashion and have heart.

gyamjo211. Where can we find and purchase your work? 

Right now for my international clients you can purchase from Boticca online shop.

Facebook: Gyamjo Jewels

P.S. Special thanks to Gyamjo for the gorgeous gifts for IFBK.

1 2

 

– IFBK

One thought on “Designer Spotlight: gyamjo JEWELS

Leave a Reply

